Individual Artists and Scholars

These collections feature internationally renowned born-digital literary artists and scholars who have donated works and other materials from their personal collections to The NEXT.

Among the names found here are those of early pioneers of the late 1980s and early 1990s working with stand-alone hypertext authoring systems, like HyperCard, Storyspace, Hypergate, and others. Many are artists who worked with Visual Basic, Shockwave or Flash, experimenting in the late 1990s and early 2000s with animation for creating multi-sensory poetry, narratives, and essays. Others forged new paths in Interactive Fiction; generative poetry and narratives; video novels; and further ground-breaking forms.


Viewing 1-5 of 11 Results

thumbnail image of collection

1999 - 2012

The Alan Bigelow Collection

The Alan Bigelow Collection features 15 Flash narratives, poems, and games published from 1999-2011...

thumbnail image of collection

1991 - 2007

The David Kolb Collection

The David Kolb Collection contains 22 works from his personal collection that he donated to the...

thumbnail image of collection

1992 - 2012

The Deena Larsen Collection

A pioneer of electronic literature, Deena Larsen is a net artist and hypertext author who began...

thumbnail image of collection

2005 - 2013

The Jason Nelson Collection

The Jason Nelson collection contains over 50 works of electronic literature produced primarily in...

thumbnail image of collection

1990 - 2009

The Marjorie C. Luesebrink Collection

Marjorie C. Luesebrink, who publishes as M. D. Coverley, has contributed to the field of electronic...

Viewing 1-5 of 11 Results